Theory underpinning Seasons for Growth

J William Worden’s Tasks of Grief form the basis of the Programme. Each of the fours tasks are matched to a season, allowing a natural progression from task to task. The imagery of the seasons illustrates that grief is cyclical; there is no end point, and while some days will be summery and light others will feel cold, dark and wintry.


Grief, like the seasons, is a continuum


Grief Cycle

The idea of ‘tasks’ rather than ‘stages’ makes a person active in their grief experience rather than passive.

Seasons for Growth was designed with reference to developmental psychology, ensuring that activities are appropriate and relevant to the age and stage of participants. It has been adapted to an educational (learning) framework to be an educative model. It is not therapy, but it is therapeutic.

Seasons for Growth is a preventative model as per Mrazek’s Mental Health Intervention Spectrum. It is an early intervention initiative, aimed at people who have experienced a major loss or life change. Should people require further support or counselling, they will be referred on.

It is effective both as an early intervention measure and a post-incident intercession. This combination helps participants to manage current feelings relating to their grief, and also to apply what they have learnt to future experiences of loss. They learn to modify their behaviour in order to free up the emotions that hold them back in life.

Seasons for Growth is theoretically and practically consistent with: Narrative Theory

  • Cognitive Behaviour Therapy
  • A Strengths Based Perspective
  • Resilience Building Interventions